David Graham.jpg

PRINCETON — The Princeton City Council’s first meeting of the new fiscal year saw Council members David Graham and James Harvey reelected to the positions of Mayor and Vice Mayor, respectively, Wednesday.

City Attorney Paul Cassell opened the meeting by calling for nominations from the floor. Councilman Dewey Russell nominated Graham for his third term as Mayor. There were no other nominations and a roll call vote reelected Graham 6-1 with Councilman Jim Hill opposing.

Graham then asked Harvey to serve for his fifth term as Vice Mayor, second under Graham, to which he agreed. Harvey served three terms under former Mayor Tim Ealy.

Graham then announced the alignments of the three committees of Council. Councilwoman Jacqueline Rucker and Russell along with Graham, will comprise the Public Works and Recreation Committee. Hill, Councilman Joe Allen and Graham will be the Public Safety Committee. Councilman Marshall Lytton, Harvey and Graham will be the Finance & Administration Committee.

Other arrangements made by Graham were having Russell and Lytton serving as the members of the financial oversight committee; Harvey as the city’s representative to Region I; and Russell as the city’s representative to the Chamber of Commerce for the Two Virginias and the Mercer County Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Graham concluded by saying, “We have a really good Council and good employees here. We have a lot of challenges in the coming year. Our main goal is to promote the city.”

Jeff Harvey is a freelance reporter and columnist for the Princeton Times. Contact him at delimartman@yahoo.com.

Recommended for you