PRINCETON — There was much more than the usual activity happening at the first live Princeton City Council meeting at the Municipal Building since March Monday night as a new Code Enforcement Director and a new Ward IV Councilman were sworn into office.

The first one to be sworn in was William “Ty” Smith as Code Enforcement Director. Smith, a four-year city employee who was named Deputy CED last year, replaces the retired Bill Buzzo, the city’s initial CED.

After the meeting, Smith said, “Right now, we’ve been very busy. We have one-and-one-half employees doing code inspections although the fire and police have been working with us. Hopefully, we’ll soon have three employees.”

In addition to his time with the city, Smith has 40 years of experience in the construction industry.

The ward seat, which has been vacant since former Mayor Tim Ealy retired in January, went to retired Circuit Court Probation Officer Joe Allen on a 4-2 vote as Councilmen Dewey Russell, who nominated him, Marshall Lytton, Vice Mayor Jim Harvey and Mayor David Graham voted for him and Councilman Jim Hill and Councilwoman Jacqueline Rucker voted for David Johnson.

Allen, a life-long city resident who resides on Lee Street, said after the meeting, “I felt like I could do it. I’ve known Tim since high school and he did an outstanding job on Council. It will be impossible to fill his shoes. We have a progressive Council and outstanding employees and I think the future’s bright for the city.”

Allen, as a ward Council representative, will fill the remainder of the term for the seat which will be up for election in July 2021.

Jeff Harvey is a freelance reporter and columnist for the Princeton Times. Contact him at

Recommended for you